China World Heritage List

By June 2011, the UNESCO had inscribed 41 items of China into the World Heritage List, including twenty-six cultural heritages, eight natural heritages, four mixed (dual) heritages, and three cultural landscapes.

Cultural Heritages (twenty-six items)
1-Ruins of Sinanthropus (Beijing Man) in Zhoukoudian, December 1987;
2-Mogao Grottos of Dunhuang City, Gansu Province, December 1987;
3-Great Wall, December 1987;
4-Terra-cotta Worriers and Qin Shihuang Emperor’s Mausoleum, Shaanxi Province, December 1987;
5-Emperial Palace of Ming and Qing Dynasties: Imperial Palace (Beijing), December 1987; Imperial Palace (Shenyang, Liaoning Province), July 2004;
6-Ancient architecture complex of Wudangshan Mt., Hubei Province, December 1994;
7-Confucian Temple, Kong (Confucius) Family’s Mansion, and Kong (Confucius) Family’s Cemetery, Qufu City, Shandong Province, December 1994;
8-Imperial Summer Resort and Temples around, Chengde City, Hebei Province, December 1994;
9-Potala Palace (Jokhang Temple, Norbulingka Park), Lhasa City, December 1994;
10-Classic Gardens, Suzhou City, Jiangsu Province, December 1997;
11-Pingyao Ancient Town, Shanxi Province, December 1997;
12-Lijiang Ancient Town, Yunnan Province, December 1997;
13-Heavenly Altar, Beijing Municipality, November 1998;
14-Summer Palace, Beijing, November 1998;
15-Stone Engravings, Dazu County, Chongqing Municipality, December 1999;
16-Ancient Villages of Xidi and Hongcun, Anhui Province, November 2000;
17-Mausoleums and Tombs of the Ming and Qing Dynasties:
(1)-November 2000
Xianling Mausoleum of the Ming Dynasty, Zhongxiang City, Hebei Province;
Eastern Tombs of the Qing Dynasty, Zunhua City, Hebei Province;
Western Tombs of the Qing Dynasty, Yixian County, Hebei Province;
(2)-July 2003
Ming Xiaoling Mausoleum, Jiangsu Province;
Tombs of the Ming Dynasty, Beijing Municipality;
(3)-July 2004
Mausoleums the Qing Dynasty, Shenyang City, Liaoning Province
18-Longmen Buddhist Grottos, Luoyang City, Henan Province, November 2000;
19-Qingchengshan Mt. and Dujiangyan Ancient Dam, Sichuan Province, November 2000;
20-Yungang Grottos, Datong City, Shanxi Province, December 2001;
21-Gaogouli Imperial Capital, Royal and Aristocratic Tombs, July 1st, 2004;
22-Historic (Old) Quarter of Macau, 2005;
23-Ruins of the Capital of Later Shang Dynasty, Anyang City, Henan Province, July 13th, 2006;
24-Blockhouses and Ancient Villages, Kaiping City, Guangdong Province, June 28th, 2007;
25-Earthen Houses, Fujian Province, July 7th, 2008;
26-Historical Architecture Complex, Dengfeng City, Henan Province, August 2010;

Natural Heritages (eight items)
1-Huanglong State-level Scenic Resort, Sichuan Province, December 1992;
2-Wulingyuan State-level Scenic Resort, Hunan Province, December 1992;
3-Jiuzhaigou State-level Scenic Resort, Sichuan Province, December 1992;
4-Three Parallel Rivers, Yunnan Province, July 2003;
5-Habitat of Giant Panda, Sichuan Province, July 12th, 2006;
6-South China Karst Landforms
(1)-Shilin County (the Stone Forest Resort), Yunnan Province, June 27th, 2007;
(2)-Libo County, Guizhou Province, June 27th, 2007;
(3)-Wulong County, Chongqing Municipality, June 27th, 2007;
7-Sanqingshan Mt., Jiangxi Province, July 8th, 2007;
8-Danxia (Reddish Sandstone) Landforms
(1)-Cishui City, Guizhou Province, August 2010;
(2)-Tai’ning County, Fujian Province, August 2010’
(3)-Langshan Mt., Hunan Province, August 2010;
(4)-Danxiashan Mt., Guangdong Province, August 2010;
(5)-Longhushan Mt. (including Guifeng Peak), Jiangxi Province, August 2010;
(6)-Jianglangshan Mt., Zhejiang Province, August 2010;

Mixed (dual) Heritages (four items)
1-Taishan Mt., Shandong Province, December 1987;
2-Huangshan Mt., Anhui Province, December 1990;
3-Leshan Giant Buddha Scenic Resort of Emeishan Mt., Sichuan Province, December 1996;
4-Wuyishan Mt., Fujian Province, December 1990;

Cultural Landscape Heritages (three items)
1-Lushan Mt. Scenic Resort, Jiangxi Province, December 1996;
2-Wutaishan Mt., Shanxi Province, June 2009;
3-XihuLake, Hangzhou City, Zhejiang Province, June 2011.